Don’t Just Hope; Ask

Ask (and keep on asking) and it will be given to you; seek (and keep on seeking) and you will find; knock (and keep on knocking) and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.  Which of you, if your son asks for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in Heaven give good gifts to those who ask Him!” – Matthew 7:7-11 NIV

I love how The Message Bible says it – “Don’t bargain with God. Be direct. Ask for what you need. This isn’t a cat-and-mouse, hide-and-seek game we’re in. If your child asks for bread, do you trick him with sawdust? If he asks for fish, do you scare him with a live snake on his plate? As bad as you are, you wouldn’t think of such a thing. You’re at least decent to your own children. So don’t you think the God who conceived you in love will be even better?

Ahh, I love this passage! It has to be one of my favorites. And I’ve been reminded of several different things about it lately. Though, today, a realization hit me: that I haven’t really been walking in it. I had asked Father if there was anything I needed to repent of, and His Kindness spoke to my heart, “You sometimes just hope that things were different, instead of praying for and declaring the change into being”. Instantly, I realized how true this has been. How often I just pray about something once or a few times, and then put it to the back of my mind, revisiting it every now and then. The constant problems that I am not constantly praying and fighting against

There His Forgiveness came, then the Grace to overcome, as I decided that I will not stay silent anymore

I realize that He’s been trying to get through to my heart with this for a while now

His timing is perfect, and the way that He grows His relationship with each of us if perfect and so well-planned-out. He doesn’t rush or jump ahead. He walks along with us, and feeds us those bits that make us venture farther and deeper with Him

Without learning the Intention and Kindness of His Voice, His loving correction would been taken as harsh criticism

Without knowing that He is Good and He works all things for our good, hard times seem like punishment. Because we don’t yet understand how trials bring about perseverance, growth, maturity, and all of the Fruits of the Spirit in us

Without Jesus’ death and resurrection, our prayers are just pleas to an angry God. Our sacrifices are just attempts to please Him. Our worship is just religious exercise.

Without knowing that our Good Father doesn’t give us what we aren’t ready for yet, His “wait” in response to a request that we can’t yet receive feels like a “no”. Or worse yet, no answer at all. It feels like a distant God, one who has turned His back and rejected you. It feels like punishment

But no, His Wrath was satisfied on that beautiful cross

He is Kind

And His Kindness brings repentance

We have the Risen King on our side, within us. At the sound of His Name, our enemy flees. Through confidence in our Saviour, death has no hold on us. Living as His Children, we take our rightful place – Heirs, not slaves. We are no longer slaves to fear. We are Children of God

 

Yes, from now on, things are changed

I will declare His Truth, even when it’s easier just to stay hidden in the lies

I will ask, and keep on asking

I will seek, and keep on seeking

I will knock, and keep on knocking

I will not grow weary in the waiting, because I know He hasn’t turned His Back. He is saying, “Wait just a little while longer. I am preparing the way.”

I will stand in the Power and Authority of Jesus, when it takes less effort to just do nothing at all

 

Because things need to change

I’ll stand up and fight

Here I am; send me

 

One thought on “Don’t Just Hope; Ask

Leave a Reply

